News Archive

Sarah Pash takes oath of office as new CSB Chair

Sarah Pash as New Chair

About 150 people representing each Eeyou/Eenou Istchee community gathered at the Mitchuap Banquet Hall September 5, 2018 for the inauguration of the Cree School Board's new chairperson Dr. Sarah Pashagumskum (Sarah Pash). 

Blueberry season brings students close to land

Land Based Activities

Students at Wabannutao Eeyou School in Eastmain filled their blueberry - and their learning - baskets this week with a trip out onto the land.

Teachers and parents chaperoned students on a blueberry-picking excursion Wednesday August 29, 2018. tudents from Pre-Kindergarten to Grade 3 went picking in the morning, while pupils in Grades 4 through 6 went in the afternoon. 

Graduation rates continue to grow for Cree School Board

Graduation rates continue to grow

‘Tis the season of celebration in Cree School Board communities, as graduates of Secondary V finish one stage of their education, even as dozens of new students begin theirs.

Ceremonies will be held in the communities for the 94 students graduating from Secondary V.

CSB welcomes new chairperson

Sarah PashOn Wednesday, July 25, 2018, Cree beneficiaries in Eeyou Eenou Istchee elected Dr. Sarah Pashagumskum as the new Cree School Board (CSB) chairperson. She will replace outgoing chairperson Kathleen J. Wootton.

Final Chairperson nominees announced

Governance Elections

Chief Returning Officer John Henry Wapachee released the finall list of nominees for the 2018 election of the Cree School Board Chairperson.

The following nominees have confirmed their candidacy for the office of Chairperson:


Robert Auclair



Sarah Pashagumeskum



Kathleen Wootton


The election is scheduled for Wednesday July 25, 2018 from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Advance polls will be held Thursday July 19, 2018 from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Two other names were nominated but did not accept the nomination: Clifford Loon and Kenny Loon.